iTunes Now Available In 32 More Countries

Tim Cook WWDC iTunes Announcement

Apple’s App Store has grown to become a huge success. It boasts over 30 billion downloads and over $5 billion paid out to developers.

The iTunes app store was previously available in 123 countries and Apple has always been working hard, trying to bring it to new markets all around the world. Last week’s Worldwide Developer Conference (WWDC), Tim Cook announced that the App Store would be launching in 32 additional countries. However, he did not mention any date.

On Thursday, 21 June 2012, the App Store got successfully launched in the 32 additional countries. Now the total number of countries where app store is available is 155. As seen in the country-selection page within the iTunes Store, these 32 new markets are now available, despite not showing up in Apple’s support page listing under which iTunes Store content is available in which countries.

The majority of the new countries are located in Apple’s African and Asian markets, with the exception of Albania and Ukraine in Europe.

The 32 countries include Albania, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cape Verde, Chad, Republic of the Congo, Fiji, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Liberia, Malawi, Mauritania, Federated States of Micronesia, Mongolia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Palau, Papua New Guinea, São Tomé and Príncipe, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Swaziland, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Zimbabwe.

The availability of App Store in these new countries is really beneficial to Apple and the tech market as well as consumers. The unified iOS platform can now be accessed among a larger area and brought to a potentially untapped market of consumers.

Source: Modmyi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.